Solar Eclipse: Timelapse

This morning, the United Kingdom was temporarily plunged into darkness as the Moon came between the Earth and the Sun. I couldn’t help taking a few shots with my camera.

Still of the solar eclipse taken whilst setting up in-between shots.

Still of the solar eclipse taken whilst setting up in-between shots.

I first noticed the start of the eclipse at around 9:30am and began to set up my equipment. I set my Canon 60d on a small tripod in my back garden in Coventry and used a Tamaron 80-210mm lens with a 2X Teleconverter.

Set up and ready to shoot just before it got too dark.

Set up and ready to shoot just before it got too dark.

Because the tripod was so small and the lens was so big, Stability was a huge issue. As long as I didn’t touch the camera I was fine but even the tiniest touch would result in very shaky and unusable footage. This meant that if I wanted to change the shot, I would have to stop recording and start again!

I decided to edit the footage into a short piece creating time-lapses out of what footage I had. Each clip is shown at twenty times the real speed of the eclipse. Here is the final piece.

If you enjoyed reading this post then please click ‘like’ and follow my blog. Any questions or feedback is also much appreciated so feel free to leave a comment below and I will be sure to message back!

Leave a Reply

