Double Exposure in film.

After experimenting with Double Exposure in photography last week, I had a thought. What if I could translate this technique into film. I was really excited by the idea and began experimenting straight away.

I started by replicating the same photography set up as the portrait shoot I did last week, building a white backdrop which was evenly lit and a key light for the main subject (me). After doing this I got my brother to record a few shots of me doing various things. What I was doing wasn’t important as this was just a test. All I had to do was make sure that I kept my whole body within the white backdrop, otherwise the effect would be ruined.

Double exposure in film

Still taken from ‘Double Exposure’

Once I had all of the shots filmed, I imported them into Final Cut Pro X. The editing process was very similar to that of the photo-editing software ‘Gimp’ for the photography project. By layering the two images and keying out the blacks in the feature image I had effectively created the ‘Double Exposure’ look I was aiming for.

This video is purely an experiment but I am very pleased with the way it’s turned out. With a bit more tweaking I can see myself using this effect in future projects such as music videos and opening film sequences.

If you enjoyed reading this post then please click ‘like’ and follow my blog. Any questions or feedback is also much appreciated so feel free to leave a comment below and I will be sure to message back!

One response to “Double Exposure in film.

Leave a Reply

