Down by the Riverside

When I was up in Gloucestershire a few months back, I visited a few of the counties notable tourist sites. As always I brought my camera along just incase there was anything I wanted to shoot. To be honest, I didn’t know much about Symonds Yat before that day but it is truly one of the most beautiful places I have been to. I found myself unable to turn my camera off as I felt compelled to film almost everything I could see. I edited this video postcard with the footage I filmed. On the way home I visited Goodrich Castle, part of the English Heritage charity scheme. You can see a few shots of the castle towards the end of the video.

After eating in one of the pubs on the bank of the river I travelled to Symonds Yat Rock, a view point where you can see an awe-inspiring scene overlooking a gorge through which the River Wye snakes.

I originally decided to make this trip primarily a videography project although that being said, I did also take some photographs (especially after seeing the view from Symonds Yat Rock). Here are a selection of my favourites, The rest can been seen on my Flickr site Here.

Most of the photos I had taken have only been slightly tweaked in the editing but one in particular had a bit of special treatment. When I was up on Symonds Yat Rock I knew I wanted to get a panoramic shot of the whole landscape. Unfortunately my camera does not have the built in functions to achieve this so instead I took a series of stills whilst physically panning the camera from left to right. I used a free online photo editing software website (https://www.dermandar.com/create/) to stitch a series of four photos together and then edited the photo as a whole to achieve this (below).

View from Symonds Yat Rock

I am quite pleased with the way this experiment turned out. Maybe in the future I will look into different photo stitching software as this is a technique I think I will be using for some time to come.

If you enjoyed reading this post then please click ‘like’ and follow my blog. Any questions or feedback is also much appreciated so feel free to leave a comment below and I will be sure to message back!

 

Leave a Reply

