Drive.

Early in May last year I was very proud to see my girlfriend, Claire, pass her driving test (first time!). A few weeks later she bought her very first car.

Claire with her Driving Certificate.

Claire with her Driving Certificate.

During our first few weeks driving around I brought along my camera to take a few shots. For a while I left the footage on my computer gathering digital dust, but now six months later I’ve decided to make something out of it. Below is my Video Postcard of Drive:

I am constantly looking for ways to make my work look more cinematic. Towards the end of the video, you can see I’ve experimented with lens whacking, a technique where you detach the lens from the body of the camera and hold it loosely in place whilst filming. This creates light leaks and focal changes resulting in a ‘dream-like’ quality to the footage. I think this works well with the overall feel of the piece and will continue to practice this technique in future projects.

If you enjoyed reading this post then please click ‘like’ and follow my blog. Any questions or feedback is also much appreciated so feel free to leave a comment below and I will be sure to message back!

Leave a Reply

