Pencil Sketch Timelapse: The Walking Dead’s Rick Grimes (Andrew Lincoln)

It’s been a very long time since I have drawn anything. I felt I would try and draw this as a quick practice to see how my skills are. One of my favourite TV programs at the moment is AMC’s The Walking Dead and with the mid-season premiere of season 6 just a few weeks away, how could I resist drawing Andrew Lincoln as Rick Grimes.

As much as I enjoyed drawing again, I was surprised by how much I struggled. I think this could be down to two reasons. Firstly, I’m completely out of practice. Just like anything else in life; Art is a discipline. You can have natural talent but if you don’t practise regularly then you can forget. I intend to keep practising from now on and try to develop my skills further. The second reason, are the materials I used. I used a sheet of plain A4 printing paper to work on because that’s all I had around the house. I found this very hard to work with as layering on darker tones with pencils just wouldn’t work.

IMG_0041

Here Below is the final image scanned in to the computer. You can see much clearly how each of the facial elements are out of proportion to each other. Rick Grimes

I do intend to carry on practicing my art in the future and look forward to creating more works, developing my skills further.

If you enjoyed reading this post then please click ‘like’ and follow my blog. Any questions or feedback is also much appreciated so feel free to leave a comment below and I will be sure to message back!

Leave a Reply

